Jason Isbell

Singer-songwriter Jason Isbell generally performs solo or with his band the 400 Unit.

A former member of the band Drive-By Truckers, his latest album, The Nashville Sound, contains the exquisite melancholy love song “If We Were Vampires”.

“If We Were Vampires”

Greta Van Fleet

Yes, reminiscent of Led Zeppelin but so what.

A young band from rural Michigan keeping the genre alive.

Greta Van Fleet rocks.

“Highway Tune”


PVRIS (pronounced Paris) is a rock trio from Lowell, MA.

Their 2nd album, All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell, just came out.

Love the ethereal splendor of “Anyone Else”.

“Anyone Else”

Downtown Boys

Downtown Boys is a punk band out of Providence, R.I.

Lead by vocalist Victoria Ruiz, the band’s powerful political lyrics invoke the passion of their punk predecessors.

Cost of Living is their latest with the song “Lips That Bite.”

“Lips That Bite”

Kurt Vile and Courtney Barnett

Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile, two of our favorite artists, have teamed up unexpectedly to create an album.

Lotta Sea Lice will include this song “Over Everything”.

“Over Everything”

Previously on The Oedipus Project:

Courtney Barnett

Kurt Vile

Pom Poms

The Los Angeles duo Pom Poms is vocalist/songwriter Marlene Gold and producer Billy Mohler.

Their debut album Turn You Out features “Live Before I Die”.

This song is a smash and one of the best that I have heard all year. Turn It Up!

“Live Before I Die”


Expect a new Bully album in October.

Alicia Bognanno is the brains behind this intense quartet.

“Feel the Same” from the forthcoming Losing.

“Feel the Same”

Purity Ring

Purity Ring, the duo from Montreal, gave us a new song on the 5th anniversary of their debut album Shrines.

“Asido” is the commemorative song.


Zola Jesus

Zola Jesus’s 5th album, Okovi, is set for a September release.

Her music is hard to define as she combines various genres with electronic underpinnings to create compelling songs as heard here with “Soak”.


Perera Elsewhere

Perera Elsewhere is the stage name of Sasha Perera.

Her 2nd album, All of This, features the intriguingly experimental “Something’s Up”, a perfect introduction to this London-born Berlin-based singer.

“Something’s Up”

Broken Social Scene

Hug of Thunder is the new album from the Canadian musical collective Broken Social Scene.

Feist provides the vocals on the title track.

“Hug of Thunder”

Beth Ditto

Back from my travels for a few days.

Beth Ditto describes herself as a “fat, feminist lesbian from Arkansas”.

Her debut album Fake Sugar just came out.

This woman can sing! Listen to the track “Fire”.


Captain SKA

Music still has the power to inspire political change.

Captain SKA, the English musical collective, updated their song “Liar, Liar”. It became a hit in Britain and influenced the defeat of the Conservative Party’s Teresa May.

Awaiting our American counterpart…

“Liar Liar GE2017”

Perfume Genius

Perfume Genius is the name that Mike Hadreas has adopted.

This Seattle native’s 4th album No Shape features the song “Slip Away”.

I’m also particularly fond of the “Wreath”.

“Slip Away”



My boys Rancid rock our world once again with Trouble Maker, their 9th.

Still going strong since 1991, listen here to 2 new songs.

“Ghost of a Chance”

“Bovver Rock and Roll”

« Previous Entries Next Entries »