The Oedipus Project is undergoing reconstruction.

We’ve been having problems with SoundCloud, the platform for our music playback.

Soon we will have a new player with all of the music on the site converted into the new format.

New post on Monday the 16th.

Stay tuned…

In the meantime, view baby bald eagles live!

Video clips at Ustream

Poly Styrene

Poly Styrene

Sad news as we have learned of Poly Styrene’s death from cancer.

Best known for her seminal work with X-Ray Spex and her female power anthem “Oh Bondage Up Yours!”, we featured her new Christmas song in December.

She had just released her solo album Generation Indigo in late March.

X-Ray Spex released one album in 1978 and then broke up. Germ Free Adolescents is a punk classic and Poly will forever continue to inspire.

“Thrash City” is from her latest solo album. And we’ve included “Oh Bondage Up Yours!” from 1977.

“Thrash City” by Poly Styrene

Oh Bondage Up Yours! by X-Ray Spex

My Morning Jacket

My Morning Jacket, the jam band with cred, release their sixth album at the end of May.

“Circuital” the opus that is the title track is a free download from the band’s website.

Clocking in a 7:16, singer/songwriter/guitarist Jim James shines with one of his best songs to date.

Circuital by My Morning Jacket



Low, the trio from Duluth, Minnesota, featuring the harmonies of husband/wife principles Alan Sparhawk and Mimi Parker, have just released their ninth album entitled C’mon.

Low has been creating gorgeous gentle songs since 1993 including a classic Christmas EP.

C’mon was recorded in an old church with the rich resonant natural reverberation of the vaulted-ceilings and spacious surroundings .

“Try To Sleep” is a free download from the new album.

Try To Sleep by Low

The Kills

The Kills

The Kills’ fourth album Blood Pressures is out.

We featured the song “DNA” last month in anticipation.

“Nail In My Coffin” is a free download and another engaging song from the new record.

Nail In My Coffin by The Kills

Gerard Smith (TVOTR)

Gerard Smith (TVOTR)

Sadly Gerard Smith, bassist for TV on the Radio, died of lung cancer on Wednesday.

The just released Nine Types of Light is the last album that he appeared on.

“Caffeinated Consciousness” is another free download from the album.

Gerard Smith lives through his music.

The Mountain Goats

The Mountain Goats

The Mountain Goats, the trio out of the college town of Claremont, CA, are led by John Darnielle, the much-praised lyricist.

And the praise is well-deserved as heard on their just released 13th album All Eternal Decks.

“Damn These Vampires” is the lead track on the album.

Damn These Vampires by The Mountain Goats

The Antlers

The Antlers are a trio out of Brooklyn led by Peter Silberman.

Burst Apart, their fourth album is due in May.

The dreamingly potent song “Every Night My Teeth Are Falling Out” is a free download from the album.

Fucked Up

Fucked Up

Hardcore from Toronto in the way of Fucked Up.

The band is due to release the rock opera David Comes to Life in June.

The album is set in a fictional British town in the late 70s and early 80s during the first wave of British punk.

“The Other Shoe” is the first single and a free download.

The Other Shoe by Fucked Up


Coachella, the annual weekend music and arts festival (and rite of passage), has begun in Indio, CA.

In celebration, Spin Magazine is offering a free download of 10 must-hear artists that will be performing.

These include !!!, Big Audio Dynamite, The London Suede, PJ Harvey, Wire, Glasser, The Chemical Brothers, Cut Copy, Lightning Bolt and Erykah Badu. Most are familiar names on this website.

This compilation, known as Whoachella, is yours for free here from Spin in exchange for your email address.

And listen below to a reunited Big Audio Dynamite!

E=MC2 by Big Audio Dynamite

Jane’s Addiction

The new Jane’s Addiction album, The Great Escape Artist, is not coming out until August of this year.

However, the first single is free on the band’s website.

Perry Farrell, Dave Navarro and Stephen Perkins remain as the core of the band. Eric Avery has left, replaced on the album by Dave Sitek of TV on the Radio.

“End to the Lies” is the Song of the Day.

“End to the Lies” by Jane’s Addiction

Fleet Foxes

Fleet Foxes

“Grown Ocean” is the second song Seattle’s Fleet Foxes have made available from their forthcoming album Helplessness Blues.

The song’s release is to coincide with Record Store Day taking place this Saturday, April 16th.

BTW, the unmistakable gorgeously pure velvet voice is from lead singer/songwriter Robin Pecknold.

(N.B., the title track is still free from the band’s website.)

“Grown Ocean” by Fleet Foxes


Moby’s new album Destroyed will be officially released next month.

In February he gave us a taste of the album with a 3-song E.P. These songs are still free from his website.

“The Day” will be the first single from the album.


"The Day" by Moby

Beastie Boys

Hot Sauce Committee Pt 2 will be the eighth studio album from The Beastie Boys.

The album, originally entitled Hot Sauce Committee Pt 1, was scheduled to be released in 2009 but was delayed when Adam “MCA” Yauch was diagnosed with cancer.

Hot Sauce Committee Pt 2 will feature the songs originally slated for Hot Sauce Committee Pt 1.

The songs intended for Hot Sauce Committee Pt 2 will be released as Hot Sauce Committee Pt 1 sometime in the future.

The second single “Make Some Noise” (2009’s “Too Many Rappers” featuring Nas was the first) will be available on April 11 to coincide with Record Store Day.

“Make Some Noise” by Beastie Boys

Broadcast today

Broadcast today

Today’s podcast on CyberStationUSA at 5:00 pm Eastern (and on-demand thereafter) includes:

Danger Mouse, Daniele Luppi & Jack White
Foster the People
Peter Bjorn and John
Thurston Moore
Atari Teenage Riot
Fucked Up
Okkervil River

« Previous Entries