J Mascis

J Mascis has given us a charming gift for the holidays.

The Dinosaur Jr. frontman and guitarist has been covering “Circle” by Edie Brickell in his solo performances. It’s become a new favorite.

“Circle” is a new Sub Pop 7” single backed by “I’ve Been Thinking”, a bonus song included on the Japanese version of Several Shades of Why, his solo album from earlier in the year.


“I’ve Been Thinking”


Phantogram is a duo from Saratoga Springs, NY.

Sarah Barthel (vocals, keyboards) and Josh Carter (vocals, guitars, drums) have recently released an intriguing EP entitled Nightlife, late-night songs for the nocturnal.

“Don’t Move” is the first single and is free in the December issue of Spin.

Jonathan L

The Oedipus Project is pleased to welcome a new show to our website: Lopsided World of L.

Hosted by old friend Jonathan L, we will turn his weekly radio show into a two-hour podcast.

Jonathan L is a legendary Arizona radio personality who has consistently been on the forefront of new music. He has interviewed countless punk, alternative, and indie artists, programmed a number of radio stations, hosted influential radio shows, presented alternative rock festivals and has written extensively on the music that he so loves.
He currently lives in Berlin and brings an international flavor to his broadcasts.

Jonathan L can be reached through his website or @: jonathan@jlradio.com

Lopsided World of L (Hour 1)

Lopsided World of L (Hour 2)

*Wugazi “Killa Hill”
*Aesthetic Perfection “DAF”
*Nous Non Plus “All I Want”
*Voodoo Swing “Blue As A Jailhouse Tattoo”
Cosmo Jarvis “Is The The World Strange”
*Iced Earth “Dark City”
*Fernthal “Make It Bigger”
*Hello Echo “Why Are We Waiting” (interlude)
*Hello Echo “The Coming Days”
*Theophilus London “One Last Time”
*Elf f/Ronnie James Dio “Buckingham Blues”
*Miracle Flair “Marvellously Depressed”
San Sebastian “Baby”
*Kasabian “I Hear Voices”
*Dessa “The Crow”
Queensryche “Retail Therapy”
The Plasmatics “Sex Junkie” (1981)
*Hunters “Deadbeat”
*Angelsplit “Cubicle”
*Nachtblut “Kreuzritter”
*Oberhofer “Gotta Go”
Tom Waits “Hell Broke Luce”
*IsIs “So Long”
*Paley & Francis “Magic Cup”
*Phantogram “Don’t Move”
*MELT “Full Of (Sh*)t”
*Chezelle “You Got A Little Piece Of My Heart”
Kooks “F**k The World Off”
*Visions Of Atlantis “Change Of Tides”
The R’s “New Gear, New Feel”

Holy Ghost!

Electronic duo Holy Ghost! from NYC have been producing, remixing and creating music since 2007.

This year they finally released their debut album, eponymously titled.

On their website they freely give us a Cosmic Kids remix of “Hold My Breath “from the album.

Here is unreleased track, a very cool Holy Ghost! cover of Ministry’s “I Wanted to Tell Her” featuring Nancy Whang of LCD Soundsystem on vocals. (Free from Green Label Sound.)

Incan Abraham

Incan Abraham, a quartet from Los Angeles, have been creating sumptuous rich music for the past couple of years.

Ethereal vocals float over swirling vibrantly pure guitars, synth enhancements and multiple rhythms transporting us to new ambient worlds.

Ancient Vacation is their newly released 3rd EP. All three are graciously available as free downloads.

Lose yourself today in the beauty of “In Milan” from Ancient Vacation.

Surfer Blood

Surfer Blood, the indie rock band from West Palm, released their critically acclaimed debut Astro Coast in 2010.

They follow now with the new EP Tarot Classics.

“Miranda” is the featured track. Listen here to two completely different versions of the song: the up-tempo original (a free download from the band’s website) and the dirge-like remix from School of Seven Bells (free from RCRDLB).

Which version do you prefer?


“Miranda” (School of Seven Bells Remix)

First Aid Kit

First Aid Kit is the name of a Swedish folk duo comprised of sisters Johanna and Klara Söderberg, 21 and 19 respectively.

Their 2nd album, The Lion’s Roar, is due in early 2012.

Here is a video of the stunning title song.

Jens Lekman

Last year Jens Lekman emerged from a 3-year broken heart with “The End of the World is Bigger Than Love”.

He is our Swedish Morrissey: introspective, vulnerable, yearning.

An Argument With Myself is his new 5-song EP with the lead track of the same name.

“An Argument With Myself”

Lana Del Rey

A few years ago Lizzy Grant’s EP failed to garner much attention, so she reinvented herself as Lana Del Rey.

Her debut single “Video Games” is a languid melancholy beauty.

As Lana Del Rey she will not live in obscurity.

Atlas Sound

Last year Atlas Sound (the Bradford Cox solo project) freely gave us the wildly diverse Bedroom Databank, 4 volumes of experiments, demos and works in progress.

Now he has just released Parallax, his 3rd studio album. It was recorded this past summer, before the nervous breakdown he suffered while on tour with his band Deerhunter.

Both “Te Amo” and “Terra Incognita” are such a lovely songs from the album and are available as free downloads.

“Te Amo”

“Terra Incognita”

The Black Keys

Expect the new The Black Keys album El Camino in early December.

Their 2010 album Brothers, featuring the song “Tighten Up”, was one of the best of the year.

The boys from Akron return with “Lonely Boy”, the tremendous first single.