The xx

The band The xx were just named the winners of the 2010 Mercury Prize awarded for the best album by a UK or Irish band. Established in 1992, Primal Scream’s Screamadelica took home the initial award. Other winners have included Suede, Portishead, Pulp, Badly Drawn Boy, PJ Harvey, Dizzee Rascal, Franz Ferdinand, Antony and the Johnsons, Arctic Monkeys, Klaxons and Elbow. Laura Marling, Mumford & Sons, Foals, Paul Weller, Dizzee Rascal, Corinne Bailey Rae and Wild Beasts were among this year’s nominees. The trio receives £20,000. “Crystalised” and “Islands” are two singles from The xx debut album xx, plus the song “Infinity” a personal fave.